MDOT and Heavy Construction Industry Announce Work Area Safety Awards


LANSING, Mich. (WLNS) – The Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) and the heavy construction industry have collaborated to announce the Work Zone Safety Awards.

MDOT, leaders from contractors, industry associations, and engineering consulting firms, launched the Work Area Safety Task Force in 2018. Awards recognize work area safety efforts from Michigan.

The task force considered 11 candidates this year.

“The winners of this first-ever award underscore the great things that happen when stakeholders work together constructively and cooperatively to always keep safety the top priority,” said Mike Malloure, CA Hull President and Co-Chair of the CA Hull Group. job. “We hope this award will encourage everyone in our industry to think a little differently and always look for ways to improve the safety of workers and motorists on Michigan’s roads.”

The task force evaluated each project based on collaboration, implementation of new ideas for work area safety, response to change to promote work area safety, communication and positive safety culture.

Prizes were awarded in three categories: small, medium and large.

The Small Project Award was awarded to the $3.3 million full-depth concrete pavement repair project on I-96 in Kent and Ionia counties. Contractor: C&D Hughes, Inc.; MDOT Engineer: Tanya Pawlukiewicz.

The Medium Project award was won by the $10.4 million I-675 Repair Project in Saginaw. Contractor: CA Hull; MDOT engineer: Brian Ulman.

The Major Project Award was presented to the $257 million I-275 Reconstruction Project in Wayne and Monroe Counties. Contractor: Dan’s Excavating, Inc.; MDOT Engineer: Jeff Horne.

“Celebrating and recognizing the good work that MDOT employees and contractors do together to make our work areas safer is a critical part of changing our culture to place a greater emphasis on safety,” said Tony Kratofil, director of operations for MDOT and co-chair of the task force. . “I am grateful to the members of the Work Area Safety Task Force for developing this awards program and recognizing the collaboration and results we all want to see.

The awards were presented at the Michigan Infrastructure and Transportation Association (MITA) annual conference in Mount Pleasant on January 19.


Comments are closed.